Neuroradiology Division Update

After a successful 10 year tenure as Chief of the Neuroradiology Division, Dr. Branstetter stepped down on April 1st 2021. Dr. Agarwal was named the new Chief after having served as the Associate Chief the previous 3.5 years. The Neuroradiology Division has undergone some changes over the past few years. After a long and distinguished career, Dr. William Rothfus retired July 1st, 2020. Two new faculty members also joined the division July 1st, 2020. Dr. Frank Lexa joined the department as Professor of Radiology and Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs. Given his strong knowledge and experience working in China, Dr. Lexa will spend part of time working with UPMC International. He will continue as Chief Medical Officer the Radiology Leadership Institute and Chair the ACR’s Commission on Leadership and Practice Development. Dr. Ryan Mason joined the department as Assistant Professor of Radiology after completing his fellowship at the University of Washington and has a keen interest in Artificial Intelligence. In addition to providing clinical expertise, the Neuroradiology Division continues to garner academic achievements with numerous collaborative projects with colleagues in the Departments of Otolaryngology, Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry. The result has provided impactful work published in both Radiology journals and clinical journals such as Laryngoscope, Journal of Neurosurgery, Head/Neck, and Skullbase. With regards to education, Dr. Allison Weyer was named the new Director of Medical Student Education for the Department. The fellowship program continues to graduate exceptional Neuoradiologists. Dr. Justin McCloskey will be joining the faculty at West Virginia University upon graduation and Dr. AdeyinakOwoyele will be joining RBA in Northeastern Ohio. Dr. Branstetter was awarded the inaugural 2021 ASNR Outstanding Contributions in Neuroradiology Education Award.