Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award and Divisional Teaching Awards 2017

Each year, the UPMC Department of Radiology recognizes outstanding residents, fellows, and faculty for their commitment to teaching and the department’s educational mission. This year, the first annual Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Jules Sumkin by Dr. Mitch Tublin. This award was created after the passing of Dr. Richard L. Baron who was a prominent leader in radiology and former Chair of the UPMC Department of Radiology. The following is a list of additional award recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year:

Divisional Teaching Awards 2017
Musculoskeletal Radiology Carol Andrews
Neuroradiology Marion Hughes
Nuclear Medicine Judi Joyce
Women's Imaging Rita Zuley
Abdominal Radiology Amir Borhani
Cardiothoracic Radiology Glenn Andrews
Emergency Radiology Omar Almusa
Interventional Radiology Rakesh Varma
Pediatric Radiology Judy Squires
Carl R. Fuhrman Excellence in Teaching Carl Fuhrman
Michael P. Federle Mentorship Award Matthew Heller
Sandra Hamdani Memorial Award (Resident of the Year) Mitch Rees
Teaching Fellow of the Year Chuanxing Qu
Teaching Division of the Year Abdominal Imaging