UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES) for 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Andrew Cordle for receiving the 2017 UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES)! The ACES Award honors staff who exemplify UPMC’s five core values – Quality & Safety, Dignity & Respect, Caring & Listening, Responsibility & Integrity, Excellence & Innovation – which are the foundation of all we do. Each year, fewer than one percent of UPMC staff from across the health system receive this honor.

2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper

Dr. Vikas Agarwal and his co-authors from several institutions across North America were awarded the 2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper. This award is presented to the most outstanding manuscript published in Academic Radiology in the year 2016.

The reference to the article is listed below:

Flipping Radiology Education Right Side Up
Erin E. O'Connor, MD, Jessica Fried, BA, Nancy McNulty, MD, Pallav Shah, MD, Jeffery P. Hogg, MC, FACR, Petra Lewis, MBBS, FACR, Thomas Zeffiro, MD, PhD, Vikas Agarwal, MD, Sravanthi Reddy, MD
Academic Radiology, Vol. 23, Issue 7, p810–822

Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award and Divisional Teaching Awards 2017

Each year, the UPMC Department of Radiology recognizes outstanding residents, fellows, and faculty for their commitment to teaching and the department’s educational mission. This year, the first annual Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Jules Sumkin by Dr. Mitch Tublin. This award was created after the passing of Dr. Richard L. Baron who was a prominent leader in radiology and former Chair of the UPMC Department of Radiology. The following is a list of additional award recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year:

Divisional Teaching Awards 2017
Musculoskeletal Radiology Carol Andrews
Neuroradiology Marion Hughes

Graduation 2017

On 15 June 2017, the UPMC Department of Radiology graduated 10 radiology residents and 24 Fellows. 100% of the graduating residency class successfully passed the American Board of Radiology Core Examination. The following is a list of the graduating residents and Fellowship or military commitment:

  • Andrew Degnan MD – Pediatric Radiology Fellowship, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Joseph Delic MD – Musculoskeletal Radiology Fellowship, University of Wisconsin Medical Center
  • Rohit Dewan DO – Abdominal Radiology Fellowship, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • Anish Ghodadra MD – Interventional Radiology Fellowship, Yale University Medical Center
  • John Mawn MD – Captain USAF, Eglin Air Force Base
  • Mitch Rees MD – Pediatric Radiology Fellowship, University of Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
  • Hersh Sagreiya MD – Abdominal Radiology and Informatics Fellowship, Stanford University Medical Center

ESNR-Springer Award 2017 - Diagnostic Neuroradiology

Congratulations to Dr. Komlosi, recipient of this year’s ESNR-Springer Award 2017 in the field of diagnostic neuroradiology.

Implementation of NI-RADS (Neck Imaging Reporting and Data System) at the ENT Imaging Center of Excellence

The ENT Imaging Center of Excellence was created 2 years ago to provide subspecialized on-site interpretations of head and neck imaging examinations, in order to optimize service for patients and clinicians. Interpretation of head and neck imaging is challenging due to the complex anatomy of the neck, particularly following cancer treatment. Interpretation and surveillance regimens are not standardized across institutions. As members of the American College of Radiology NI-RADS Committee, Drs. Barton Branstetter and Tanya Rath have collaborated with the committee Chair, Dr. Aishely Aiken of Emory University, and other head and neck radiologists from across the country, to develop standardized reporting of CT, PET/CT and MRI in patients with head and neck cancer. The reporting system has been implemented into routine daily practice at the ENT Imaging Center of Excellence in an effort to provide patient centered, data-driven and outcomes based reporting that can be used to drive surveillance regimens and treatment.

March 2017 - Appointment of Kevin Auerbach, M.D. to the role of Vice Chair, Community Division.

Over the past 5 years, Dr. Auerbach has been a key faculty member at UPMC Passavant Hospital, where he has most recently served as the Chief of Radiology.  Throughout his short tenure as Chief, Kevin has proven himself to be a strong and capable leader, and he will be a tremendous asset on our Departmental leadership team going forward.  As Vice Chair, he will be integral in helping to define and execute a strategic vision, which will enhance the stability and growth of the overall Community Division while continuing to serve as the Chief of UPMC Passavant.

January 2017 - Appointment of Ashok Panigrahy, M.D. to the newly created role of Vice Chair, Clinical & Translational Imaging Research

As Vice Chair, Dr. Panigrahy will develop and implement a strategic plan for building a successful clinical and translational research program, while aligning the imaging research goals and initiatives with the Department’s overall mission and vision.  In light of the changing healthcare landscape, this role will be pivotal in bridging our clinical and research objectives as we look towards the future. Since joining our Department in 2009 as an Associate Professor, Dr. Panigrahy has been an accomplished and invaluable clinician, researcher, educator, and physician leader.  He currently serves as Chief of Pediatric Radiology, Radiologist-in-Chief of Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC, and as Medical Director of Pediatric Imaging Quality. 


Subscribe to Front page feed