Better Imaging Today

Welcome to the University of Pittsburgh Department of Radiology. We are one of the nation’s largest and most productive academic radiology departments in the world, with nearly 200 dedicated clinical and research faculty. Our physicians practice in the hospitals and clinics of the UPMC, one of the nation’s outstanding health systems, honored repeatedly by U.S. News & World Report. The research program is currently one of the top funded radiology departments, with over 10 million dollars in total funding. Our residency program is one of the largest programs in the country.

F-18 fluciclovine (AxuminTM) PET/CT for prostate cancer biochemical recurrence - available at UPMC Shadyside since September 2017

UPMC Shadyside is the first site in Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania to offer a new F-18 Positron-Emission-Tomography/Computed-Tomography (PET/CT) scan for prostate cancer patients with biochemical recurrence. The novel PET agent F-18 fluciclovine (AxuminTM) was FDA approved in May 2016 and is useful for detecting low prostate-specific antigen (PSA) soft tissue and bone recurrence. This clinical service is the result of close collaboration between the Departments of Radiology and Radiation Oncology. Patients with F-18 PET/CT positive studies may be eligible for targeted radiotherapy: imaging data acquired can be directly retrieved and incorporated for radiation treatment planning.

UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES) for 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Andrew Cordle for receiving the 2017 UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES)! The ACES Award honors staff who exemplify UPMC’s five core values – Quality & Safety, Dignity & Respect, Caring & Listening, Responsibility & Integrity, Excellence & Innovation – which are the foundation of all we do. Each year, fewer than one percent of UPMC staff from across the health system receive this honor.

2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper

Dr. Vikas Agarwal and his co-authors from several institutions across North America were awarded the 2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper. This award is presented to the most outstanding manuscript published in Academic Radiology in the year 2016.

The reference to the article is listed below:

Flipping Radiology Education Right Side Up
Erin E. O'Connor, MD, Jessica Fried, BA, Nancy McNulty, MD, Pallav Shah, MD, Jeffery P. Hogg, MC, FACR, Petra Lewis, MBBS, FACR, Thomas Zeffiro, MD, PhD, Vikas Agarwal, MD, Sravanthi Reddy, MD
Academic Radiology, Vol. 23, Issue 7, p810–822

Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award and Divisional Teaching Awards 2017

Each year, the UPMC Department of Radiology recognizes outstanding residents, fellows, and faculty for their commitment to teaching and the department’s educational mission. This year, the first annual Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Jules Sumkin by Dr. Mitch Tublin. This award was created after the passing of Dr. Richard L. Baron who was a prominent leader in radiology and former Chair of the UPMC Department of Radiology. The following is a list of additional award recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year:

Divisional Teaching Awards 2017
Musculoskeletal Radiology Carol Andrews
Neuroradiology Marion Hughes
Nuclear Medicine Judi Joyce
Women's Imaging Rita Zuley
Abdominal Radiology Amir Borhani

Graduation 2017

On 15 June 2017, the UPMC Department of Radiology graduated 10 radiology residents and 24 Fellows. 100% of the graduating residency class successfully passed the American Board of Radiology Core Examination. The following is a list of the graduating residents and Fellowship or military commitment:

  • Andrew Degnan MD – Pediatric Radiology Fellowship, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Joseph Delic MD – Musculoskeletal Radiology Fellowship, University of Wisconsin Medical Center
  • Rohit Dewan DO – Abdominal Radiology Fellowship, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • Anish Ghodadra MD – Interventional Radiology Fellowship, Yale University Medical Center
  • John Mawn MD – Captain USAF, Eglin Air Force Base
  • Mitch Rees MD – Pediatric Radiology Fellowship, University of Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
  • Hersh Sagreiya MD – Abdominal Radiology and Informatics Fellowship, Stanford University Medical Center

ESNR-Springer Award 2017 - Diagnostic Neuroradiology

Congratulations to Dr. Komlosi, recipient of this year’s ESNR-Springer Award 2017 in the field of diagnostic neuroradiology.

Implementation of NI-RADS (Neck Imaging Reporting and Data System) at the ENT Imaging Center of Excellence

The ENT Imaging Center of Excellence was created 2 years ago to provide subspecialized on-site interpretations of head and neck imaging examinations, in order to optimize service for patients and clinicians. Interpretation of head and neck imaging is challenging due to the complex anatomy of the neck, particularly following cancer treatment. Interpretation and surveillance regimens are not standardized across institutions. As members of the American College of Radiology NI-RADS Committee, Drs. Barton Branstetter and Tanya Rath have collaborated with the committee Chair, Dr. Aishely Aiken of Emory University, and other head and neck radiologists from across the country, to develop standardized reporting of CT, PET/CT and MRI in patients with head and neck cancer.


Subscribe to Department of Radiology RSS